top of page

Check out my interview with Broward County rapper Mackavon

1. Rap name and where did it originate from?

  • Mackavon. I got Mac from my last name Malcolm and Von from my nickname at home Jovoughn. Macka is also a Jamaican term so that made the name even better in my eyes. The name is also inspired from Makaveli. So many meanings behind this name, that’s why I love it.

2. Where are you from?

  • I’m from Montego Bay, Jamaica. Moved to South Florida when I was a young’un.

3. Influences/inspirations?

  • Back when I first started rapping, 50 cent was a big influence. I give him credit for sparking the light in me to start rapping but eventually I started listening to Tupac and that really helped influence what I thought rap was supposed to represent. With rap being new to me at the time, Tupac was the one who stood out. My current influences are Kendrick, J. Cole, Big K.R.I.T, and a lot of underground rappers.

4. What makes your music different than other rappers/producers?

  • They can’t tell my story. Trust me, I haven’t even told close to half of my story. If anyone else was in my shoes I don’t think they’d be able to represent the issues I’ve faced either.

5. Dream collab?

  • My dream collab isn’t anyone particular at the moment, I want to connect more with underground artists than people that have made it. But as for rappers in the industry, Kendrick and Joey Bada$$ are a must.

6. Favorite rapper and why?

  • Kendrick Lamar, he shook the game up.

7. Where do you see yourself In 10 years?

  • World Tour, sold out shows, number 1 album. What you speak and think becomes reality. Trust.

8. Favorite album?

  • To Pimp A Butterfly by Kendrick Lamar.

9. Upcoming projects?

  • WAVY TUNES The EP. Be on the lookout for that, I put a lot of work into it. I’d say it’s like a free album. Drops sooner than you think.

10. Fun fact about you?

  • I like to keep it wavy.

44 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Drive- Leel Summerz [Song Review]

Miami artist Leel Summerz is back with another track titled “The Drive”. Leel is painting a picture of him driving in his Honda Civic. On this melodious track, He’s telling us his trials and tribulati

bottom of page